The Village of Creston established, by a motion of committee, to form a Fire Department on February 21, 1899 at their meeting held at the Sirdar Hotel. A motion was also made to appoint Mr. Joseph Wilson as the first Fire Chief of the Fire Department. The first Creston Fire Department volunteers list contained 29 names. In 1925, Matt York was named full time Fire Chief and a building was purchased on 11th Avenue North for use as a fire hall. This building was demolished in 1961 and a new fire hall was constructed on 11th Avenue North (next to the Credit Union) in 1962. In 1976, fire protection was extended to surrounding areas through an agreement with the Regional District of Central Kootenay. In July 1980, Reginald (Reg) Longhurst was hired as Fire Chief and grew the Creston Fire Department from less than 12 volunteer firefighters to a membership of 21 firefighters (part time, paid on call) upon his retirement in August 2000. In 1981, the Town purchased the old Overwaitea store on 10th Avenue North and converted it into the Fire Hall we know today. In 2014, our WEP (Work Experience Program) was created and with the addition of the five WEP firefighters, enrollment in the Creston Fire Department is 32 active members. Today, in 2019, Creston Fire Rescue has an enrollment of approximately 34 members. This is just a brief synopsis of the in-depth history of the evolution of the Creston Fire Department which is located on Town of Creston website - www.creston.ca (Government/Fire Department/Our History).